Movies Under the Stars: August Highlights

Summer will be over before we know it, but as long as the warm weather’s still here, there are plenty of outdoor activities available for children and adults alike. NYC Parks and Recreation hosts a free summer Movies Under the Stars series in select parks across the tri-state area – a great way to bond with your loved ones.

Sponsored by the Mayor’s Office of Media and Entertainment, this summer’s lineup features plenty of family-friendly favorites, from recent blockbusters to old classics.

The school year is right around the corner, but there’s still time left this month! Grab your lawn chairs, bug spray, and snacks and make your way to the nearest park for Movies Under the Stars.

 

Movies Under the Stars – Top Picks

Friday, August 11

Power Rangers

Owl’s Head Park, Brooklyn: 8pm – 9:30pm

The Hunger Games, Mockingjay Pt. 1

Midland Field, Staten Island (Bedford and Laconia Ave): 8:30pm – 10:30pm

 

Saturday, August 12

Moana

Kaiser Park, Brooklyn: 8pm – 9:30pm

Secret Life of Pets

River Park, Bronx: 8:30pm – 10:30pm

 

Sunday, August 13

Ratatouille

Friends Field, Brooklyn: 8pm – 9:30pm

 

Monday, August 14

Zootopia

George Seuffert Bandshell, Queens: 7:30pm – 9:30pm

 

Tuesday, August 15

The LEGO Batman Movie

Gertrude Ederie Playground, Manhattan: 8pm – 11pm

 

Wednesday, August 16

School of Rock

CPL Thompson Park, Staten Island: 8pm – 10pm

 

Thursday, August 17

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

Franklin D. Roosevelt Boardwalk and Beach, Staten Island: 8pm – 10:30pm

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

Pelham Bay Park, Bronx: 8:30pm – 10:30pm

 

Friday, August 18

A Dog’s Purpose

Carl Schurz Park, Manhattan: 8pm – 11pm

Beauty and the Beast

Juniper Valley Park, Queens: 8pm – 10pm

Kung Fu Panda 3

Schmul Park, Staten Island: 8pm – 9:30pm

 

Saturday, August 19

Up

Carlton Park, Staten Island: 8pm – 9:30pm

 

Sunday, August 20

Finding Dory

Seth Low Playground, Brooklyn: 7:45pm – 9:15pm

 

Monday, August 21

The Jungle Book

Highland Park (Jamaica Ave and Elton Street) Queens: 7:30pm – 9:30pm

 

Wednesday, August 23

Sing

Unisphere (Flushing Meadows Corona Park), Queens: 8pm – 10pm

 

Thursday, August 24

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Bloomingdale Park, Staten Island: 8pm – 10:30pm

 

Saturday, August 26

The Boss Baby

Bensonhurst Park, Brooklyn: 7:30pm – 9pm

 

Monday, August 28

Big Hero 6

Nathan Straus Playground, Manhattan: 8pm – 11pm

 

Thursday, August 31

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

Franklin D. Roosevelt Boardwalk and Beach, Staten Island: 8pm – 10:30pm

 

To check out the movies for the rest of the summer visit the NYC Parks website for more information.

0 Comments

Leave a comment

shares