Texas Book Festival Announces 2022 Full Lineup With 300+ Authors

Texas Book Festival (TBF) is excited to announce the full lineup for its annual festival featuring nationally and critically recognized authors, including Angie Cruz, Omar Epps, Janet Evanovich, Anand Giridharadas, Gabino Iglesias, Jacques Pépin, Margo Price, Rebecca Roanhorse, and more. The 27th annual Texas Book Festival, returning in person after two years of virtual and hybrid programming, will take place on November 5 and 6, 2022, in the State Capitol and along Austin’s iconic Congress Avenue. 

Good Morning America Book Club Pick author and Women’s Prize finalist Angie Cruz, who debuted her first novel Soledad at the 2001 Texas Book Festival, will return with How Not to Drown in a Glass of Water, an emotional and inventive novel about a woman facing the future after losing everything.

Screen Actors Guild Award recipient, nine-time NAACP Image Award winnerand actor-producer known for his roles in House, Shooter, and This Is UsOmar Epps, will feature his debut young-adult novel Nubia: The Awakening, an epic Afrofurturist saga billed as perfect for fans of Black Panther.

Janet Evanovich, “the most popular mystery writer alive” (NYT) and author of 42 New York Times bestsellers, will present her new novel, Going Rogue, the latest book in her popular Stephanie Plum series.

Bestselling author of Winners Take All and award-winning former New York Times columnist Anand Giridharadas will present The Persuaders, an insider account of activists, politicians, educators, and everyday citizens working to change minds, bridge divisions, and fight for democracy.

Gabino Iglesias, award-winning author, will present The Devil Takes You Home, a genre-defying thriller about a father desperate to salvage what’s left of his family—even if it means a descent into violence.

Culinary legend and sixteen-time James Beard Award recipient Jacque Pépin will present Jacques Pépin Art of the Chicken, chock-full of recipes, humorous stories, and his own paintings.

Grammy-nominated “Best New Artist” Margo Price will debut her memoir, Maybe We’ll Make It, a revealing look at loss, motherhood, and the search for artistic freedom. An entrancing and tenacious depiction of the personal demons that Price has overcome throughout her career, she shares a clear-eyed reminiscence of reclaiming her power after years of tragedy and despair.

New York Times bestselling author, winner of the Nebula, Hugo, and Locus Awards for her fiction, and recipient of the 2018 Astounding Award for Best New Writer, Rebecca Roanhorse, will present a new world of dark fantasy in her new release, Tread of Angels.

The 2022 festival lineup features nearly 300 national and Texas authors, including debut and bestselling writers, celebrated chefs including Top Chef finalist Chris Scott and James Beard Award recipient Vishwesh Bhatt, beloved children’s illustrators and authors, and more, connecting attendees with their favorite authors in many genres and introducing readers to new literary talents. The 2022 festival will also showcase previously announced authors Sandra BrownDavid George HaskellMichaela Goade, and more.

Numerous young-adult and children’s book authors are a part of this year’s TBF lineup, including Maggie Stiefvater, Aiden Thomas, Natalia Sylvester, R. M. Romero, Carole Boston Weatherford, David Bowles, David Levithan, and Mac Barnett. In addition to engaging author sessions and panels, TBF offers special programming throughout the weekend for kids, spanning educational programs, family fun activities, games, entertainment, and more.

Texas authors featured at this year’s festival include Robert Draper, Simran Jeet Singh, LaToya Watkins, Will Hurd, Leon and Tiffany Chen, May Cobb, Alex Kiester, Katherine McGee, Amanda Eyre Ward, Amy Kim Kibuishi, Lise Olsen, Evan Griffith, Natalia Sylvester, and many more.

“We are eager to present authors and exhibitors in person again, for the biggest Texas Book Festival since 2019,” says TBF Literary Director Matthew Patin. “An incredible slate of debut, emerging, and established literary talent from across the state and nationwide will be in Austin this November. And we’re looking forward to connecting audiences with writers they’ve long been fans of, and with those they’ll be lifelong fans of soon.”

The Festival Weekend includes acclaimed authors at readings, panel discussions, and signings; exhibitor booths and food vendors; Central Market Cooking and Kirkus Reviews Tents; and family activities. The festival continues to be free and open to the public thanks to its generous and dedicated sponsors and volunteers.

The 2022 Texas Book Festival is co-presented by H-E-B and AT&T. Other major sponsors include Brigid Cockrum and Family, Tocker Foundation, Still Water Foundation, Amplify Credit Union, Buena Vista Foundation, Tapestry Foundation, Kirkus Reviews, Central Market, Texas MonthlyAustin Chronicle, and Jordan Foster. BookPeople is the official festival bookseller.

For more information on the Texas Book Festival, please visit www.texasbookfestival.org and follow along on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @texasbookfest.

Featured Image Credit: Tribeza

 

0 Comment

Leave a comment

Here at UrbanMatter, we pride ourselves on leading the charge when it comes to Austin entertainment. Need ideas? News? Info? From venues, restaurants, and bars to events, festivals, and music — we’ve got you covered.

ADDRESS

200 N LaSalle St Ste 1540 Chicago, IL 60601
E: info@urbanmatter.com
P: 630.864.5270

Sign up for our email blast!

Built, Powered, & Developed By: Youtech Web Design Agency